My Review of QUEEN and Adam Lambert at Cleveland’s Quicken Loans Arena on July 21, 2017

by

Terri Bey

QUEEN sings the classic anthem, “We Will Rock You,” and rock Cleveland they did, at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio on July 21, 2017. Two of the remaining and surviving members of QUEEN, along with 2012 “American Idol” runner up Adam Lambert, and their backing band put on a brilliant show, full of QUEEN hits and a couple of surprises. The concert included a fantastic array of strobe lights, and computer graphics. The stage was also shaped like a guitar.  When. I saw them three years ago in Chicago, I didn’t think they could top themselves, but they did.

Overall, QUEEN and Adam Lambert were incredible. Musically,  the entire band was tight. Lambert is a wonderful frontman. Is he Freddie Mercury? No. Lambert even admitted it. He joked  about wearing a “gay suit.” Adam talked about how he was a fan, and all this was a tribute to Freddie. However,  Lambert is excellent for his role. What I liked, was at the end of “Bohemian Rhapsody,” he and Freddie Mercury, who was on the screen, traded lines, with the brilliant Mercury singing the final line. I loved Lambert’s costume changes. He interacts with Brian May and Roger Taylor beautifully.

Freddie Mercury was featured, of course. They showed him on screen singing the “Daaaayyyyoo,” and like Pavlov’s dogs,  we all gave him was he wanted. It was awesome. He got the biggest cheers, of course. What a frontman and lead singer. What command he had of an audience.  Freddie Mercury was the best ever

The entire band was very energetic onstage. They got the crowd going. Brian May is a living legend. What a great guitarist. May is also a really good showman, as well.  I loved his guitar solo. I loved how he still plays that solo to “Stone Cold Crazy” so well.  Of course, he sang, “Love of My Life,” as only he can, with Freddie Mercury on screen singing the last lines.

Roger Taylor had his drum battle. That was really good. Taylor is an underrated drummer, in my opinion. He was excellent, last night. Taylor has an excellent singing voice, and sang “I’m In Love With My Car,” and a brilliant version of “Under Pressure,” with Adam.

There was some really awesome special effects. In the beginning of the show, the screens show “Frank” the robot, which is on the cover of the band’s “News of the World” album” appearing to lift up the screens on the stage, revealing the band. During “Bicycle Race,” Adam Lambert has a pink bicycle with flowers, and on the screens above the stage, there are outlines of women bicycling. During “Killer Queen,” Adam Lambert is sitting on the robot’s head, which comes from under the stage. I don’t want to spoil the entire concert for anyone who has yet to see the show, so I will just say that the special effects are just phenomenal, as well as the music.

In closing, this was brilliant concert.  I highly recommend going to see QUEEN and Adam Lambert. I have seen a ton of concerts, and a ton of acts, and this is the best act going today.

Set list

We Will Rock You (Intro)
Hammer to Fall
Stone Cold Crazy
Another One Bites the Dust
Fast Bottomed Birls
Killer Queen
Two Fux
Don’t Stop Me Now
Bicycle Race
I’m In Love With My car
Get Down Make Love
I Want It All
Love of My Life – Brian
Somebody to Love
Crazy Little Thing Called Love
Roger Drum Solo
Under Pressure
I Want to Break Free
You Take My Breath Away (Intro)

Who Wants to Live Forever
Brian’s Guitar Solo
Radio Ga Ga
Bohemian Rhapsody
Encore
We Will Rock  You
We are the Champions
God Save the Queen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.